BULGARIA Friday, 13 April 2001 


Bulgarian Edition
English Edition

Yordan Sokolov Remains Chairman

of the National Assembly for the third time during the last 4 years. Eighty-two deputies from BSP, MRF, Democratic Lefts and independent demanded his resignation. Ninety-two voted for it, 130 were against and one abstained. The vote was open despite the insistence of the opposition to vote secretly, because in private conversations many MPs from the ruling majority express their disagreement with Sokolov. There were no debates at the request of the UDF. The whole procedure took 20 minutes.

Your Comment


Back to the top © Standart News. All Rights Reserved.   |   webmaster